NaNoWriMo

I learned about National Novel Writting Month (NaNoWriMo) through Dodger at the beginning of November. NaNoWriMo is a little non-profit organization where they create programs to help people get inspired to write. You can learn more about them here. The concept of NaNoWriMo is to spend September and October planning your novel and write a 50 000 word novel in November. Those that achieve the 50 000 word minimum by November 30th at 11:59pm got access to the winners page. Then there’s the “Now What?” months. During January and February they help you with the revision and publishing stages of creating a novel.

As I said, I learned about this program in the beginning of November. Sadly, I didn’t feel like I could accomplish the 50 000 words. I’ve tried so many times to write novels and always failed, so I thought this time wouldn’t be any different. But Dodger kept posting about it and how she was going to write that day and it made me want to write again. So I signed up on the 17th (completely free, but you can donate). I already had an idea in my head that I’d been pondering since summer, but never found the courage to put it in words. I started writing the prologue. I was amazed at the fact that in only a few minutes I had written 352 words! Not a lot if you think that I still had 49 648 words to go in 13 days, but I was still proud of myself for at least starting.

I told myself I at least wanted to write every day. Even though it was just a couple words, I wanted to at least dedicate some time during my day to write a bit. And I did. I started getting so involved in the story that I had new ideas while in the shower and just couldn’t wait to write them down! On day 23 I had 1 477 words written. Sadly, some stuff happened in my life and I started feeling like crap after that day, which made me feel like a failure. I knew going in this that I would never reach the 50 000 words, but I told myself it could at least motivate me enough to actually finish a novel, even if I don’t finish it by the end of November. But with my super brain deciding to make me feel like crap, it told me that I was a failure for not writing more and so I completely stopped.

I feel really bad with myself because I feel like I gave up so easily. I would’ve loved to at least reach 5 000 by the end of the month! Apparently that wasn’t in the cards for me. But I’m not giving up this time. I feel motivated again to write, and I will write. Even if it takes me a year to finish it, I will finish this novel. I want to be proud of myself again.

 

What’s a project you really want to finish someday?

Until Next Time!

Young Mom ❤


Previous post Next Post

 

Leave a Reply

