Toddlers and Technology

P1110211

This is a huge debate for many parents nowadays and I wanted to share my view on it. I know technology is a huge part in our lives today, but I do not agree with parents that give their child an Iphone or an Ipad or whatever else. It’s their choice, of course, and I won’t go around bitching at them for it, but I don’t think it’s a good idea.

Right now, my son is 18 months and he is extremely attracted to my SO’s and mine’s computers because we’re using them a lot. I know we’re setting a bad example if we want to keep him away from them, but we’re adults and he’s a child. Right now, we don’t want him touching them especially because he doesn’t know what he’s doing. When he’s a bit older, when he’ll start understanding what it is and slowly being able to use it properly, we will show him how it works, but we won’t buy him any tech stuff. I strongly believe a child should mostly play outside, read or play with other toys before touching a computer. I know it will be inevitable someday, but we will restrain his time on them.

What I think we will do is let him play video games or whatever else once he’s played outside and read a little before. I know we won’t be able to completely take him away from those things, we ourselves use them all the time so it would be unrealistic. I can at least control his time on them. I want my child to be able to talk at the dinner table or talk to guests when we have them instead of always being on his phone or whatever else parents buy their kids these days.

There will probably be times where I’ll cave in and give him my phone or something to keep him from throwing a tantrum when his doing so would be quite inconvenient, I’m not perfect, but I’ll make sure it’s my last resort and that I’ve tried everything else before.

Don’t be offended by this post. It was not written to judge parents that let their child use technology whenever they want. I don’t agree with it, but it’s not my place to judge them. I don’t care if you do that with your child, it’s your choice. This post was only my point of view and what my SO and I will try to do.

 

Until Next Time!

Young Mom ❤


Previous post Next Post

 

Leave a Reply

