Love at First Sight

Love at first sight is something I’ve always wanted to believe in. It was a feeling I always hoped I would experience if it existed, but never did. At least, not in the way I thought it was supposed to be.

The first time I saw my SO, I’m ashamed to say I thought he was stuck up, pretty much only because of how he was dressed and how he talked. Then I started talking to him (we would cross paths at a club in college) and I learned he wasn’t stuck up. He was actually quite a funny guy. But I only thought of him as a friend, since at the time I was going out with another guy. When I became single again, me and my SO started talking more often and made plans to hang out during the summer. Back then he was four hours away for an internship, but we didn’t last until summer before seeing each other. He came down about halfway through his internship to spend a weekend with me and that’s when we officially became a couple.

Obviously, I was a bit disappointed that I didn’t feel the “love at first sight” phenomenon, but I much more liked having my SO be a friend before a lover. It made it so much easier being myself around him since he already knew how I was naturally. Lucky for me, I still got to experience love at first sight three years into the relationship.

We had a baby. There is no feeling comparable to what you feel when you see your baby for the first time. It’s such an overwhelming feeling, very hard to describe. Of course you start loving your baby way before you give birth to him, but it’s not quite the same love. When you’re baby is not yet born, you love the idea of him. Once he is in your arms and you hear him screaming and the idea of a baby becomes so real, this little being suddenly holds all your heart; and you don’t even know him yet!

I have never felt love at first sight towards my SO, but right now I feel like nobody has experienced true love at first sight until they’ve held their baby in their arms for the first time. There’s no better feeling in the world, and I get to feel it all over again every time I look at my son.

 

Did you experience the “love at first sight” phenomenon with your SO and/or your baby?

Until Next Time!

Young Mom ❤


Previous post Next Post

 

Leave a Reply

