Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

the-fellowship-of-the-ring

Starting today, we will enter a long journey of reviews on the Lord of the Rings franchise, books and movies. I have decided to start with the LotR: The Fellowship of the Ring and not with The Hobbit because I wanted to review in the order that the movies came out.

Written by J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings is a fantasy novel set in a fictional universe of Middle-earth; and is one of the major series that has changed so many lives. It was first published in July 1954, but has been republished many times since then.

After a stunt from Bilbo, Frodo finds himself owner of Bag End and almost every possession that Bilbo acquired over the years, including the Ring. After 17 years, Gandalf tells the story of the Ring to Frodo and asks him to leave for Rivendell to seek council about what to do with the Ring. After traveling for many days with Sam, Pippin and Merry as companions, and escaping Dark Riders and death many times, Frodo meets an old friend of Gandalf, Aragorn, whom was asked to help Frodo make his way to Rivendell if Gandalf wasn’t in his company when he would arrive in Bree.

After an almost fatal meet with five Black Riders, Frodo and company finally arrive at Rivendell and learn the whole story of the Ring. They also learn where Gandalf has been all this time. With the help of Elrond, a Company is created to accompany Frodo to destroy the ring. With the help of Gandalf, Aragorn, Boromir, Legolas, Gimli, Sam, Merry and Pippin, Frodo travels to Misty Mountains, Moria, Lothlórien and finally ends up in Amon Hen where he must make a big decision about the rest of the adventure.

I actually watched to movies way back when they came out and enjoyed them, but not adored them. Back then, I wasn’t yet in the mindset that the books are always better than the movies; so I thought if the movies didn’t interest me that much, why should I read the books? Many years later, my SO buys me the books for Christmas and I dug into them. I had a hard time adjusting to the writing, since I’m not used to reading old English, but once I got used to it I was completely absorbed by the story. There was a mix of “The author describes everything so well!” and “There’s way too much describing of the scenery”, but it was so beautifully described that I ended up enjoying the page long descriptions of scenery as much as the page long descriptions of action. The many key parts of the book that I knew were coming felt so much more real and dramatic while reading than how they felt in the movies. It must be because in the book they could take two pages to get to the point so the build-up is intense; while in the movies it happens in a flash so there’s no build-up. I’m probably one of the last humans on earth that hasn’t read the LotR series, but if you haven’t yet, I suggest you do!

 

If you’ve read the book, what did you think of it?

Until Next Time!

Young Mom ❤


Previous post Next Post

Movie Review

 

Leave a Reply

