My Dear Baby Grows Up Way Too Fast

P1100749

Using a spoon for the first time on his own!

When you have a baby, you’re so happy to just cuddle that little bundle of joy and have him stay tiny forever. But after a while, when he starts trying new things, you start looking forward to him learning stuff. First he learns how to roll, then crawl, then walk, and then the learning goes wild! But the most marvelous thing is when he shows you something he knows and you didn’t know he knew.

When my baby started walking, I checked in my books what where the next steps in his learning curve. I noticed it said to start showing him how to use stairs so he wouldn’t be scared later on. Since we don’t have stairs where I live, I couldn’t show him properly. When we went outside, there was this tiny step and I just started trying to show him how to get up that tiny thing. He grasped the idea quickly, but he didn’t seem to have the strength to pull himself up there so he would put his foot on the step and I would pull him up. He slowly started pulling himself on the step while holding my hand. I didn’t have to pull anymore. Then one day, we went to my in-laws and my mother-in-law showed him once how to get up the stairs on all fours. He didn’t want to do that at all. He wanted to get up the stairs like adults. Like how we had showed him with the tiny step back home. But on another week-end when we went back up to my in-laws, my dear Baby suddenly decided to climb three steps on all fours, all on his own! I didn’t even think he’d registered that since he was only shown once how to do it! But he sure did it!

Later in the week, my baby showed me something else he knew that I had absolutely no idea he knew! He showed me he knew where his feet were! I don’t remember how we ended up on the subject, but all of a sudden when I would ask him where his feet were he would bend down and touch his feet! When I told my SO he told me our baby also knew where his hair was! It’s crazy! I don’t even know how he learned those things!

There are so many other examples I could give you, but the point I’m trying to make is: Babies grow up fast. Way too fast. One day you have a tiny little baby in your arms that doesn’t know anything other than the basic survival skills and suddenly you wake up one morning and you have yourself a one year old genius that shows you skills you didn’t even knew he had! Ladies, when mothers say “Cherish the first months and hold your tiny baby as much as you can, because he will grow up fast” believe them! I didn’t believe them and I regret it! I feel like I haven’t held my baby enough and now that I want to cuddle him, he doesn’t want to! He’s too focused on learning and exploring. Which is a good thing, but I’d like to cuddle him more!

 

If you have a baby, or a nephew/niece, what is something they did that you were surprised they knew?

Until Next Time!

Young Mom ❤


Previous post Next Post

 

Leave a Reply

