Coldest Girl in Coldtown

Coldest Girl in Coldtown

 

Written by Holly Black, Coldest Girl in Coldtown is a Young Adult novel touching the Horror and Urban Fantasy genres. Published in 2013, this book was named best book of the year by many associations, Amazon being one of them.

Coldest Girl in Coldtown is the tale of a young girl named Tana. Waking up in the bathroom of a classmate’s farmhouse after the last party of the summer, before beginning their last school year, she horribly finds all her classmates drained from their blood all over the house. Going in a bedroom to find her coat and purse, she finds her ex-boyfriend, Aiden, attached to the bed and gagged right next to a vampire, chained to the bed post and also gagged. While trying to let her friend free, Aiden quickly reveals he’s Cold by trying to bite her. Making him promise to control himself, Tana saves her ex-boyfriend and the strange vampire that seems to want to help her escape. The story continues with Tana, Aiden and Gavriel, the vampire, as they make their way in Coldtown. Giving a lift to a brother and sister in exchange of some help around Coldtown, Tana faces many obstacles as she tries to wait out the 48 hours to see if she’s going to get Cold before hopefully leaving Coldtown behind; if she isn’t Cold of course.

Before there were talks about a book called Coldest Girl in Coldtown, I found a preview of a short story online called the same and written by Holly Black. I got so into it that I just had to buy the only book I could find with the full short story. And so I bought The Poison Eaters and Other Stories, which is a compilation of many of Holly Black’s short stories. Of course I fell even more in love with Coldest Girl in Coldtown. Two years later I heard about a book coming out called Coldest Girl in Coldtown. I quickly checked it out and was thrilled to learn she had actually written a full book! I definitely was not disappointed. I even wish there was more! It was such an awesome tale and as I write this, about a week after finishing the book. My mind is still so inside the story that I keep wondering what’s going to happen to Tana and Gavriel; and I’m hoping with all my heart that someday I’ll have an answer to that question. With all the twists and turns in that story, I never knew what was going to happen; especially with Gavriel being half mad. I simply loved every word of it.

 

Until Next Time!

Young Mom ❤


Previous post Next Post

 

 

2 thoughts on “Coldest Girl in Coldtown

  1. I’ve heard mixed reviews about this book, mainly bad, so I wasn’t too keen on buying it. Though, having said that, I didn’t really look into the premise. You’ve convinced me I should give it a try, at least. 🙂

    • Yes I’ve honestly adored that book. The difference for me from this book to others is that I tend to have a hard time getting into a book at first because it always starts so slow, but with Coldest Girl in Coldtown the action starts right away so you get sucked in right at the beginning!

Leave a Reply

