My New Job

I’ve recently started working again. At a new job, because my old one wasn’t good anymore. Long story short, I used to work as a receptionist at a hotel and I worked the night shift. Obviously I couldn’t go back to that shift with a baby to take care of during the day, so I asked my boss if she could give me the morning or evening shift on the week-ends. She said no. So after my maternity leave I ended up without a job.

Since I have this huge dilemma with putting my baby in daycare (see here: https://youngmomsouvenirs.wordpress.com/2014/08/18/the-daycare-struggle/ ) I started looking for week-end jobs. There aren’t many sadly. After three interviews I finally got a job. I’m cleaning tables at the mall’s food court. It pays well and I only work 9 hours a week. It’s just enough to pay for my expenses (as in car insurance, gaz and groceries). Obviously I’ll hopefully not be staying there very long. But in the meantime, I have to bear with the other workers.

I thought it would be quite easy to do. They all told me they were a great team and that I would love it there. The first week was fine. The second week started being weird. I started noticing people talking behind other’s backs and some that tried to be superior than they were. For example, this woman (let’s call her Cindy) kept telling me how I was doing everything wrong when it’s not her place to tell me those things (if they’re even true). Then last week happened.

Friday night, another co-worker (let’s say Julie) came asking if she was working this week-end. The lady that was taking care of putting up the schedule (We’ll call that one Betty) while our boss was on vacation told her she didn’t know. Then she started telling me how our boss wants to give hours to the best ones, which meant me. After that one of the maintenance guys (George) asked me what was going on with Julie. I told him I didn’t know what was going on. He said he was wondering because the hours I was doing used to be the hours she was doing. I started worrying that I was taking somebody else’s place instead of replacing someone that left like I was told.

On Saturday, I checked the new schedule and saw that Julie wasn’t on the schedule at all. Her name wasn’t there anymore! I asked Betty if she knew anything about it and she just repeated what she had told me the night before. I told her what George told me and how I was worried I was taking somebody else’s hours. She got so mad! She said he didn’t have the right to tell me that, that it wasn’t true, that our boss had the right to give the hours to whomever she wanted. Then the maintenance guy that was taking our boss’ place (Rob) while she’s on vacation came and told me the same thing. Then talked about how pretty much everyone that works there is full of crap and that I can only trust him and Betty.

Many other things happened and I came close so many times to just telling everyone to buzz off. That this job was the simplest job in the world; that I perfectly knew how to clean tables and those plastic cabaret thingies. I also hate having to deal with Cindy. Betty apparently told her to stop telling me how to do my job, and she didn’t speak to me the whole time Betty was there. But as soon as Betty’s shift was over, Cindy came over and started bothering me. Another example, my break is at 3:45p.m. I checked the time and it was 3:40p.m. so I told myself I was going to clean these 4 tables and it should be time for my break after that. I was giving the final stroke on the final table and Cindy was in my back showing me her watch and telling me to go take my break. It’s as if she went out of her way to stop her job and come all the way to the other side of the food court just to tell me right at 3:45p.m. to go take my break. And she said it sternly as if I would get in deep trouble if I didn’t take it right then.

There are so many things frustrating me about that place, but I just have to remind myself that I’m not staying there for the long run and to just keep my head down and ignore what’s going on around me.

 

Until Next Time!

Young Mom ❤


Previous post Next Post

 

Leave a Reply

