Father’s day gift

This project has been a huge roller coaster. I had to change many times how I wanted to do it because I couldn’t find what I needed, or what I wanted to do wouldn’t work. But I still managed to finish it and be satisfied with how it looks.

Here’s where I got the idea: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/263812490646643696/

Here’s the ingredients (some aren’t in the picture, because I had to change how I did it in the process of doing it):
P1090939

  •  Two frames (I picked frames for a 4×6 picture)
  •  Paint/Sharpie
  •  Mod Podge
  •  Paper
  •  Scissors
  •  Paint brush
  •  Stencils
  • Stick on velcro (Not in picture)
  • Melamine panel

Step one:

I wrote the sentence and placed the frames how I wanted them to be just on pieces of paper to get an estimate of the measurements for the melamine panel. I needed about 24×16. At first I wanted it to be a wood panel, but I couldn’t find one with the right measurements and since I don’t have anything to cut wood, I had to go with melamine.

Step two:

P1090941
I couldn’t paint the letters on the panel like I had first planned (it would’ve needed way too much preperation) so I decided to write the letters on paper and use that. Since my first draft was too messy, I rewrote the letters for the sentence on new pieces of paper

Step three:

P1100050
At first I wanted to paint the letters, but it really wasn’t convenient and it would’ve taken way too long. So I took out my black sharpie and drew the letters instead. Then I cut them one by one. My hand still slightly hurts from that part haha

Final steps:

P1100124
I Mod podged the letters on the panel. With the frames not fit for hanging, I had to come up with another solution. I used stick on velcro. Yep. My frames are velcroed to the panel. Genius eh? haha

So there you go! I feel it’s a bit naked, but I can’t really do more than that, so it’ll stay that way.

 

Until Next Time!

Young Mom ❤


Previous post Next Post

 

Leave a Reply

