DIY Mother’s Day Gift

This year, for my mom, I decided to make her a little something something including Xavier. I saw this on Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/263812490646637204/ and decided I wanted to do handprints like that. I also saw this: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/263812490646637202/ and wanted it written somewhere in her gift. For the clay, I used this recipe: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FnGpbgYLAs0

Here’s how my handprints looked before getting cooked

Image

I suggest you turn them sometime while they’re cooking, because I didn’t do it and mine was still a bit too soft. Since I noticed after painting the front, I had to leave it face down to dry during a couple of days, and even then it’s still a bit soft. If you want to hang it, make holes in the clay before cooking it.

Ingredients

Image

  • Paint of your choice
  • Handprints
  • Brush
  • ** Optional: Ribbon and box frame

First Step

Paint the handprints white to make it easier to put your choice of color after.

Image

Step Two

Paint your hands the color(s) you chose

Image

Step Five/Final product

I didn’t think I would use a ribbon so I didn’t make holes, but in the end I did use one so I had to hot glue it to the back of the handprints. I do not suggest you do that if you want to properly hang it. It doesn’t hold very well. To finish it all off I printed out the saying I wanted and pinned everything in the shadow box I bought on amazon (http://www.amazon.ca/Lawrence-Frames-14-Inch-Shadow-Display/dp/B004X7IH0Q/ref=sr_1_12?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1399606715&sr=1-12)

Image

 

 

Happy Mother’s Day to all mother’s out there 🙂

Until Next Time!

Young Mom ❤


Previous post Next Post

 

Leave a Reply

