Post-baby body

For this post, I will go ahead and admit right now that I’ve been having a hard time accepting my post-baby body. Now don’t go telling stuff like “it’s normal for your body to look this way, you just had a baby!” I know that, but it doesn’t change how I feel. Now that that’s out there, let me talk about what I read yesterday.

I started reading this self-help book (New Mommy, Hot Body) and although I really like most of the advice, there’s one line that I didn’t quite appreciate.

“Some doctors offer a combination of treatments in what is known as a “mommy makeover”. These often include a breast lift or augmentation, liposuction and individualized skin treaments along with a tummy tuck.”

I’m the kind of person that doesn’t approuve of surgery on your body, unless it’s for health issues. I have a hard time with knowing that doctors actually offer that kind of treatment to a new mom. In the book, the author says you have to wait at least 6 months and to wait until you’re done breastfeeding before talking about those options with your doctor. Now, I don’t know about other moms out there, but I know that after 7 1/2 months in mommyhood, I still feel quite vulnerable at times. And if a doctor were to suggest me those operations to make me feel better about my body, while I’m in one of those moods, I would be tempted to go through them (even though I’m completely against them).

I don’t know how long feeling vulnerable can last. Maybe it’s different for every mom. But I think no moms should be given those kind of options while they feel miserable about their body. Instead of trying to fix us, they should give us directions as to how to exercise well and have a healthy diet. I just feel like they’re taking advantage of a vulnerable mom.

Like I said earlier, unless it’s for health issues, I think that you should never turn to surgery.

Until Next Time!

Young Mom♥


Previous post Next Post

Leave a Reply

